People say that reading for pleasure helps people to develop imagination and better language skills than watch TV. To which extent

It is widely believed that reading is a better way to foster imagination and cultivate language skills than watching TV programs. Personally, I strongly agree with that notion as reading is an active method of knowledge acquisition. First of all, the books are said to spur the imagination much more than TV programs because they allow readers to create their own world. While reading, they will use their creativity to manipulate the pictures in their mind through descriptive words. It is this practice that stimulates people’s brains and enhances their imaginative thinking skills. Watching television, on the other hand, barely encourages viewers to use their imagination. The reason is that images have been predefined and audiences are needless to imagine to visualize the characters. Secondly, language skills can be sharpened by reading rather than watching TV since learners can control their own pace. They can read at a slow speed to contemplate the language usage of writers, grammatical structures, for instance. In addition to the context in which words are used, readers can learn the spelling of them, which is beneficial to their writing skills. In contrast, except for improving listening skills, watching TV programs is likely to have no other linguistic benefits. Dialogues are spoken so fast that watchers can hardly have time to learn the meanings of new words as well as the grammatically correct way to use them. In conclusion, reading books is more advantageous to stimulate imagination and language development than watching television. My view is that people should spend more time reading because of the aforementioned merits.