Some people say that purpose of education is to prepare useful society members. Others say that it is only helpful to achieve people’s personal ambitions.

It is true that, recently, education seems to be the priority in a nation or country with the increasing high competition all around the world. While some people argue whether the numerous investigations in education aim to prepare residents to become skillful workers who are beneficial to the society or to achieve their own success. From my perspective, society can benefit from dwellers’ personal achievements. To begin with, some people advocate that education are funded by governments; therefore, it is reasonable for the students who have received compulsory education, are asked to learn more practical skills and technologies to contribute themselves in economic progress. For example, some students who come from destitute area without sufficient money to pay for the entrance expense of schooling, are provided financial aid for the tax revenue. Understandably, if those graduations fail to become useful members for country or community, it is inevitable result in a waste of public resources. Moreover, the prosperity of one nation cannot be separated from the efforts of the whole citizens. On the other hand, opponents argue that education should not be the limitation to humans’ further development. It is more motive for people, if they have the freedom to choose what they actual like. For example, many talent artists have achieved an unprecedented height, but if they are forced to learn some practical subjects, they may unable to have this breakthrough in art. In addition, achieving one’s own ambition is not a conflict regarding society contribution. It is also believed that people’s achievements are of benefits for society and individuals as a whole. In conclusion, both sides of statements make great sense, while I strongly believe that people have the right to make their dream come true in whatever field. Regardless of the slightly less economic valuable in some areas, people’s ambition should be respected and it is of value to society in some extent.