Some people say that public libraries are an important public resource and should be free. Others say that they are just a waste of public money.

While it is argued that pulic libraries are an essential asset for societies and their services should be provided free of charge, others argue that these institutions are a burden on tax payers. In this essay I will defend both sides of the argument, and then I will show my own perspective. On the one hand, some people argue that public libraries help society members to acquire knowledge easily. In addition to that, these institutions act as an archive for all kinds of information, especially local achievements which motivate society members to get better education and aspire for further success. Consequently, these libraries should continue to benefit from public funds and ought to be accessible for all community memebers without entrance fees. For example, numerous studies have concluded that, nations which have more free public libraries per capita obtained higher education levels and scientific achievements per inhabitant than countries with fewer public libraries. On the other hand, other people argue that the modern technoligical advancements could provide other educational resources without wasting the government's money. Resources like public internet access could achieve the same level of benefits while costing much less. Moreover, spending the excess money to improve other public facilities like schools and praks, could prove to be more beneficial for societies. Hence, some people think that it is possible to minimize public spending on libraries without compromizing the education quality. In conclusion, while some people think that we should spend less money on public libraries and look for technological solutions to maintaine the same benefits, others argue that public libraries are still important to societies on many levels, especially when it comes to highlighting local achievements. In my opinion, public libraries are an essential part of any society, and their benefits could not be compensated in other ways.