In some countries, the average weight of children is increasing and their level of health and fitness is decreasing. What do you think are the cause of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

Nowadays, children in many countries are suffering from overweight issues in addition to fatigue problems which were less common in previous decades. This essay discusses some of the reasons for these challenges and then tries to offer reasonable solutions to overcome them. There are many causes of recent deterioration in youngsters health and an increase in their weight. A principle reason for these problems is modern dietary habits. Children frequently consume sugars and fats. In addition to eating unhealthy food, children’s current lifestyle does not include sufficient amount of physical activities. Therefore, children are not growing their physical abilities to improve their fitness, nor burning enough calories to reduce their weight. In fact, numerous studies concluded that, children who do not spend enough time exercising are prone to suffer from overweight and fatigue more than other children. Many mitigation measures can be taken into consideration to overcome these problems. To start with, schools could encourage students to engage in different physical activities during school hours. This can be done by conducting awareness campaigns at schools to encourage them to integrate physical activities to classic classes. Also, using the media to raise the level of awareness in society about these challenges could prove to be helpful. These awareness campaigns could be guided to result in changing the parents’ way of thinking about this matter, which will lead some of them to change their childrens’ dietary and physical exercise habits. For example, Norway did a national awareness campaign about children obesity two years ago, and that resulted in a significant drop in health and weight issues between school students. In conclusion, children’s obesity, fatigue and health level problems grew significantly due to unhealthy dietary systems and lower engagement in physical activities. I believe that this could be overcome by increasing the amount of physical exercise in shools, in addition to using the media for awareness campaigns.