Some people think that libraries are a waste of resource and money so computers should replace them. However, others do not agree.

The existence of the libraries in this world dates back to late 1200 AD. While some people believe that libraries can now be replaced by computers and digital aids because they require money and other resources to run, others believe that libraries should still exist. This essay will review both sides and elucidate why libraries should be upgraded by the state of the art technologies. Firstly, the libraries requires huge space, staff and utilities for their proper operation. The number of visitors is getting less every day, which has minimized their revenue generated. Secondly, people find it difficult to access books at libraries, as more convenient options are available. For instance, the introduction of e-libraries have minimized the need to access the physical libraries as people find it easier to search and read the required book on their digital devices for a very minimal fee. It is therefore believed that physical libraries should be made non-existent and computers must be used instead. Libraries have remained the source of knowledge and wisdom for centuries. They not only provide access to the books, but also the environment and space to fulfil the need of the readers. Many people find it difficult to read books at home using the internet because they don’t get a suitable atmosphere. A recent survey conducted by a British newspaper agency revealed that 64% of the people in the United Kingdom believe that they have lost their interest in reading books as they don’t get the proper library environment because the libraries are becoming extinct. I emphasize that existing libraries should be upgraded with digital aids and computers so that people not only get to read the physical books, but can also have access to the gadgets which make reading easier. This essay discussed both views and provided an opinion to modernize the libraries with digital aids so that needs of the people who need a library environment and who find it easier reading books on a computer can be satisfied.