Some people say that protecting the environment is the government’s responsibility. Others believe that every individual should take responsibility for it.

Higher institutions are places of learning where people come to acquire knowledge in different areas of life, so they can be productive and add to the growth of the society. However, there is the debate as to the number of places which should be given to candidates seeking admissions into different courses taught in these learning centres. The purpose of this essay is to address this issue and I disagree that there should be equal number of places for students irrespective of their gender. Not every subject can be handled by the opposite sex except for a few who are either strong minded or are just determined to succeed in such area of specialization. For example, a lady can't cope very much in mechanical engineering where lots of heavy equipment is involved. The use of metal tools and movement of large machinery may be a source of concern for her and this may scare her from such subject. The male gender is more capable of handling this as fear isn't a factor which can distract him. As a girl may not be able to cope with a course such as mechanical engineering, so it is for a man who may not be able to bear with a subject such as nursing. Nursing involves caring for people, especially those who are down and in need of special attention. The male gender isn't always good with this aspect when compared to the opposite sex who are very good at taking care of people, especially the elderly, disabled and those who are temporarily disposed. This is one reason there are more girls than boys studying nursing in the universities. In summary, the number of learners to be admitted into different courses should be based on the needs of the society. Learning centres should be helped by government agencies by giving statistics of the needs in specialities and this should be used as a basis to determine the quantity of genders needed to be taken in a subject.