Some people say that protecting the environment is the government’s responsibility. Others believe that every individual should take responsibility for it.

With the advent of technology, gadgets and gizmos with ultra-modern features have flooded the market. Many people are swayed away by this trend and buying these products than ever before. I believe it is not ideal nor it is beneficial to purchase these products as adds up to unnecessary expenditure and also damage our ecosystem. To embark upon, buying the latest cellphones or laptops make people spendthrift. This is because of companies in order to make high profits and to stay competitive, release updates of products every six months. Although the changes are very cosmetics, it lures consumers’ to update with the new version as they feel the latest product is more superior. For example, according to the recent article published in the daily newspaper, 70 percent of people in the UK are replacing their old iPads with new ones influenced by updates. Customers are buying these updated products thus adding a big dent to their wallets. Secondly, over usage of electronic devices has a negative influence on our environment. The primary reason for this is that modern gadgets such as laptops, mobile phones come with excessive packaging. Disposal of this heaps of garbage is hard to manage and are being disposed of into our ecosystem such as rivers and seas which is causing pollution. To illustrate this, according to Oxford University, about 300 whales are dying every year due to the garbage thrown into seas and this number is likely to be double in the coming years. Therefore, people should think twice before purchasing anything. In conclusion, I would like to reiterate that the popularity of high-end sophisticated appliances is adding to the debts. Moreover, it is degrading our environment. It is recommended people should be cautious before buying any new gadget.