Some people say that physical education classes are an important part of a child’s education. Others believe that it is more important to focus on academics during school time.

All work and no play makes jack a dull boy, is a thought proven over and over again. We all tend to focus more on academic than physical education, but it is agreed that as people age, they realise that physical well being is as important as their career or mental health. Modern medicine has increased the life expectancy, but on the other hand, people have started facing health problems earlier in their life, which is partially due to lack of physical activities. Focus on physical education since schooling, can help a child understand the health benefits and bolster them to follow it on a regular basis. Concurrently, it would help them boost teamwork, improve hand eye coordination and compliment their overall personality. A recent study conducted by Columbia University, compared students participating in physical exercises to the ones who did not, results showed that the former had higher productivity and better grasping power as compared to the latter. Even though physical education classes can benefit a lot of students, there are many students who abhor physical education classes, for them it could be really ardent to keep up with it. Students with disabilities or lacking physical aptitude, could feel left out, instead of being encouraged and could be an object of mockery in such cases. For example, All have seen bullies in schools which make fun of the students for being too nerdy and physical education classes being the hub of such cases. In conclusion, physical education classes should be treated as important as academics, but there should be an option to opt out, when someone is not able to cope up with it. We should always remember, every child is different, with different abilities which we should embrace and nurture.