Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving a car or motorbike.

Some individuals argue that raising the minimum driving age is the optimal solution to ensuring road safety. While I accept that this policy is advantageous to a certain extent, I believe that there are better methods to lower the accident rates. Increasing the legal age for driving is beneficial due to several reasons. Firstly, since young people are less mature and responsible, they might be hardly aware of the importance of abiding by the rules. Teens’ thrill-seeking behaviour, mood swings and impulses have the potential to adversely affect their driving skills. Therefore, they are more likely to violate the laws, which could result in serious road accidents. Secondly, older drivers have a greater pool of experience than younger participants, so they are capable of reacting quickly and handling emergencies properly. Meanwhile, owing to a lack of experience, teenagers might underestimate traffic hazards or panic in dangerous situations. However, I would argue that the authority can take better measures to enhance road safety. The first one is to impose stricter punishments on those who commit driving offences. For example, people should be required to pay heavier penalties for breaking the traffic rules. As for serious violations, offenders could face a lifetime ban from driving or longer prison terms. Consequently, citizens will show more respect for the law and car accidents can be prevented. Another solution is to encourage the use of public transport. This can be done by reducing fares and expanding bus routes to outlying and popular areas such as the suburbs or shopping malls. In conclusion, there are more effective methods to reduce traffic collisions apart from increasing minimum legal age for driving vehicles.