Some people say that parents should places restrictions on the hours their children spend watching TV and playing computer games, and encourage them to spend this time reading books instead.

There are some people who believe that the amount of time children spend in front of their TV and computer should be limited by their parents. They also think that it is better for youngsters to read books instead. I completely agree with this opinion since there are lots of benefits of reading books while watching TV and playing computer games are not good for children in any way. The advantages of reading are not limited to entertainment. First of all, a child who reads often is able to adapt quickly to his environment. For instance, Charlie, who is the 7-year-old son of my neighbour, was able to make two friends on the day his family moved to my neighbourhood. Secondly, reading boosts a child's intellect as he learns important things about life such as what mistakes people usually do and how to avoid them. This is because there are many biographies and autobiographies, which, most of the time, are about the challenges that the writers faced and how they overcame them. Even though watching TV and playing computer games are more entertaining than reading, they can cause harm to children in many ways. Firstly, spending too much time in front of a TV or a computer screen prevents children, and sometimes even adults, from falling asleep. Eventually, they will develop insomnia, a disease that causes a person to feel sleepy in the morning instead of at night. Secondly, most TV shows and computer games contain violence, which is extremely inappropriate for children under the age of 18. If exposed, disturbing content may lead to aggressive behaviour in young people and in worse cases, children might become criminals when they grow up. Although it is fun for children to watch television and play video games, they should do so with the guidance of their parents. At the same time, they should also be encouraged to spend time reading books.