Some people say that parents should places restrictions on the hours their children spend watching TV and playing computer games, and encourage them to spend this time reading books instead.

More often than not, the adolescent’s body and mind development are of paramount significance for their parents. It is proposed that children should be motivated to spend their time reading books rather than watching television and playing games on computer systems. I do not support this point of view as discouraging their contact from electronic gadgets would be healthy and reading books could possibly inculcate focus. The cogent reason why children should be redundant to spend time on electronic devices is that it can harm their physical health. Since these activities usually involve long sitting in one place, it would lead to a sedentary lifestyle which could develop concerns such as obesity. For example, my niece, who generally spend a couple of hours watching the cartoon channel, is gaining weight faster than his friend, who opt to play outdoors. Thus, if children need to be more fit, then they must opt to skip spending time on digital devices. Furthermore, adolescents must be encouraged to spend more time reading a variety of books as this habit could develop more focus. When adolescents spend a good amount of time reading books, they often require undivided attention to understand the context of the topic. To illustrate, during my school days, I used to read my subject books, which usually requires my total attention to grasp the topic, which helped me a lot to improve my concentration. Therefore, if children need to attain concentration, then opting to read should be prioritized. To conclude, children's brains and body development are very critical for parents. It is projected by some that their interaction with television and games should be minimized rather than induce them to read more. I totally support this view as less time spent on digital devices would lead to better physical health and more reading can induce concentration.