Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part on organised group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves in their own. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Children should always be involved in some kind of activities. Other than the mobile phone. It is considered by some, that motivating the children to particulate in teamwork activities is parents’ responsibility, while others believe that young adults should be well aware of the productive utilization of their leisure. In this essay both diverse viewpoints will be discussed, Moreover, in my opinion, youngsters must know how to keep themselves busy. To begin with, in the past, teenagers and adolescents were a lot dependent on their parents in decisions making about their free time. Due to the lack of easy internet access, a lot of physical activities like team activities were their leisure tasks. This makes them disabled in decisive capabilities, therefore they don’t feel the need to think themselves. While some young people are introverts and they need parental encouragement, but others should be left on their own. For instance, if parents don’t push their socially awkward or introvert offspring into team or group activities, then it would result in low confidence in them. On the other hand, living in the era of the big data, where all kinds of information are available at our fingertips, thus children these days are quite well aware regarding the use of their available time. Numerous benefits are associated with this viewpoint. Firstly, the more they explore, the more they will find it easy to identify their areas of interest. Secondly, free time gives them breathing space to think out of the box, thus leading to innovation. Finally, it leads to building up their decision-making capabilities which youngsters of this generation lack. To illustrate the viewpoint, for example, Bill Gates used to spend most of his time alone in his room, thinking and experimenting with his innovative ideas, thus he ended up development of the ‘Microsoft’. To conclude, I strongly believe that parents need to let their children free so that they could find a way out to enhance their capabilities during their free available hours. But on the other hand, they also need to keep an eye and push their shy and low confident younger ones into public group gatherings, in order to fill their missing gaps.