Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organized group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Leisure time plays a pivotal role in physical and mental well-being of children. Some people assert that children ought to be motivated by their parents to attend activities arranged for groups; whereas, other argues that they should acquire the ability to entertain themselves alone to rejuvenate. This essay will discuss both the views and emphasize my opinion. To begin with, organized group activities allow children to socialize with people in their immediate vicinity. Parents these days prefer their juvenile to participate in extra-curricular/ team activities as they are vital for building skills in non-academic, but equally important areas. One of such activity is camping trips organized by scouting associations, where they can be trained in how to erect tents and other useful practical skills. In addition, other sporting activities like cricket also teach children to respect authority of leaders and to collaborate with others to achieve specific goals. All these skills make a significant contribution to the development of young people into responsible adults. These activities also enhance the confidence levels and interpersonal skills of children. On the other hand, it is suggested by some that it is beneficial for children to do solitary activities in their free time because this can improve their concentration skills. Reading is the most obvious example of an activity requiring this ability and it is likely that it will help children with studying for difficult exams. However, if left alone with electronic devices, many children tend to spend too much time on one preferred activity. Parents should ensure that the time that children spend alone on leisure is limited. To conclude, although, solitary leisure activities have some value for children; it is certainly good to be exhorted by parents into collaborative activities. In my opinion, a balanced approach will be appropriate because both are beneficial for their development.