Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organized group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own.

Spare time is becoming a rare commodity, especially for children, with their increasingly demanding academic schedules. Some believe that they should be advised to spend this time on group activities, while others think that it would be better to spend time alone. In my opinion, this is very individualistic, and depends upon what the child needs to become a well-rounded adult. On the one hand, group activities encourage children to socialize, and teaches them the importance of teamwork. For instance, being a member of the school band would bring together those who have similar interests, making it easier to form friendships. In addition to this, the process of learning how to play different instruments to produce one, cohesive melody, would emphasize the importance of working in synch with those around us. In most groups, working together to achieve their shared goals engenders camaraderie and a sense of belonging. On the other hand, spending time alone would give the child an opportunity to enjoy their own company, as well as cultivate their own individual interests. There are usually times in most peoples lives when they are alone, and thus, should not feel like they are at a loss for what to do. For example, they could use this time to reflect on their day and process the day’s events and process their emotions about it. Or, they could nurture their hobbies, such as reading, painting, or writing, which are more solitary activities. In my opinion, we must strike a balance between the two. If the child is introverted, participating in more groups would help them gain the social skills they need. On the other hand, if they tend to spend most of their time around people, spending more quality time with themselves, doing something they love, would serve them well. In conclusion, spending time in groups or alone depends upon the needs of the child. Parents should carefully consider the different facets of their child’s personality, and decide whether they need to socialize, or improve their self-sufficiency.