Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organized group activities in their free time. Others say it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own.

While there are many who support the idea of building confidence in children with team building tasks in their spare time, some opine that they should learn to engage themselves when they are alone. This is an ongoing debatable topic. I am of the opinion that a child who socialises better will learn faster than being on their own most of the time. Firstly, when a person is part of a group or a team, they get immense exposure and tend to be more active. They see their peers doing the same activity in different ways and adapt better by learning new things. For example, when a child is enrolled in a football team, they learn new techniques that are not known to them until they see their friends doing it. They would definitely engage and pick up skills from them. Children who stay away from the crowd, are seen to be less confident and moreover, they are bullied more. They definitely have the advantages of being self dependent, organized and may even turn out to be vivid readers. They probably are less influenced by others opinions, but it definitely comes with a cost. For example, it is noted that children who spend more time by themselves end up having more theoretical knowledge than practical. They are able to score well in their SAT's but have less confidence when doing presentations. In my point of view, socializing, being part of a circle or team and actively involving in group activities are much better ways to learn than spending most of the time reading or playing on the phone or the computer. This would prevent them from growing both mentally and physically.