Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organized group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for the children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own.

It is often thought by many that parents ought to advise their children on how to spend their free time, while others believe that it should be decided by the children themselves. In my opinion, I completely agree with the second viewpoint. This essay, however, discusses both sides of the argument and then submits a plausible conclusion. On the one hand, parents play an important role in the upbringing of a child. They act as a role model and a counselor for their children. In other words, parents are the persons, who will be most concerned for the betterment of their child's life, and therefore, they choose things which are in the best interest of their children. For instance, parents would want their children to join a book club for their free time, rather than spending it with the people who are involved in unhealthy activities. On the other hand, children will learn from their choices when they are allowed to decide how they want to spend their leisure time. This is to say that when children are given this freedom to choose for themselves, they may make bad decisions but, this will allow them to learn from their mistakes and make better decisions in their future lives. In a recent article, written by Ms. Farhat Hashmi, a psychologist, it is stated that people who make their own decisions in their childhood are better decision-makers in their practical life. In conclusion, admittedly, parenting is a vital aspect of child's grooming. However, it will be more beneficial if they are given the opportunity to choose what they want to do with their extra time. It is predicted that in the future children will be given more opportunities where they can make decisions for themselves.