Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organised group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own.

Using your free time brings enormous amounts of benefit to any child, especially for their overall development in terms of both physical and mental refreshment. While some believe that parents ought to support children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own, I, however, stand by the point that children need to be encouraged by their parents to participate in group activities. On the one hand, parents who encourage children to be on their own might say that for a child to grow it is necessary to be individualistic. It is true that a child can learn a lot of new things by reading a book which can give them vast amounts of knowledge as well as in-depth insights into the subject matter. In addition to this, children can apply the wisdom obtained from the reading to develop new ideas and experiment with the same. For example, by reading academic books children develop a good understanding with which they can develop new ideas and techniques to better solve problems in real life. However, those children who are encouraged to participate in group activities by their parents have a higher probability of developing better inter-personal communication skills. Common sense suggests that being involved in group activities aids in the development of leadership capabilities and decision making abilities. For instance, children who play cricket often have to take decisions which make them more confident in real life scenarios. Furthermore, children understand the value of helping each other and to be supportive in times of trouble and triumph which is considered the most important benefit of group activities. In conclusion, although children can occupy themselves by reading a book or experimenting themselves, in my opinion group activities provide them with better overall development in key skills needed for life which can help in the long term. Therefore, I side with those who feel that parents should encourage their children to participate more in group activities rather than to leave them on their own.