Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organised group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own.

There is a heated debate on whether the parents should encourage their pupils to participate in group activities in leisure time, or the pupils should be self-esteemed to do such things. In my opinion, the guardians should guide their younger ones without causing any pressure on them. In the following paragraphs will illustrate both the view of above notion. To begin with, the former view, developing the character of the children is the prime responsibility of their parents by engaging them in activities, which enhance their skills. The pupils are not mature enough to take decisions regarding their skill enhancing activities, although the parents have to guide them to utilize their leisure time for group activities, where they can enjoy working with their peers and learn important skills like cooperation, coordination and team spirit. For instance, playing football game develops all these essential skills to the youngsters as well as it eradicates boredom and sedentary lifestyle. Thus, it is the moral responsibility of the parents to mould the personality of their children by motivating them. On the other hand, some people strongly believe that the pupils should have the self-awareness to make their position on such group activities. This practice provides some space for the children to take independent decisions, which enrich their independent thinking and they will join such activity with more enthusiasm. Moreover, it is seen that pressure from the parents to participate in any task has created a negative impact on a child’s psychology and bring disaster results in the end. For example, the researchers surveyed that the majority of suicide cases of the teenagers in India are due to exorbitant pressure experienced from their parents. Thus, the youngsters should be given some space to choose their field of interest where they can participate by themselves. In conclusion, the parents are more curious about to all-round development of their pupils. Hence, they should guide their younger ones by understanding their individual choice. Also, the government should conduct awareness program in schools to spread awareness to all the parents.