Some people say that parents have the most important role in a child’s development. However, others argue that other things like television or friends have the most significant influence.

It is an irrefutable fact that the factors contributing to a child's growth are becoming debatable. It is often argued that parents play a vital role in a child's growth, whereas others disagree and think that children get more influenced by their peers or by watching television. This essay will discuss why a child's success is dependent on his parents' guidance, but why a pupil's growth driven by other things like TV, and his classmates, is ultimately superior. On the one hand, parents play a significant role to inspire their child to succeed in life as they know what is best for their child. Since kids always try to imitate their family members, especially their parents, which makes it easier for the parents to teach them good traits and moral values. To illustrate, parents often teach their child life lessons in the form of motivational stories from their own experiences. Hence, the generation gap between the parents and their offsprings do wonders for their extraordinary growth. On the other hand, the key role in the development of a child is played by the television and his colleagues nowadays. Firstly, children tend to spend 80% of their time in the school or playing with their friends or binge-watching television. In other words, surroundings and companionship, play a critical role in the growth of a child. For example, in a recent survey, it was noticed that students who watched more TV were more outspoken and had less stage-fear as compared to those who did not. Therefore, it is beneficial to learn lessons from friends as they are never forgotten. To conclude, while people may vary in their opinions, I think that children learn more comfortably and quickly in their peer-group as compared to by their parents. When I was a child, I learned to ride a bicycle from my friend and not by my mother or father irrespective of their huge efforts.