Some people say that new advancements in factory farming and the creation of new combinations of fruits and vegetables are not beneficial while others disagree with this opinion.

Technology is permeating every realm of human beings’ lives ever since its inception. This can be manifested in biotechnology used to bring about a new combination of fruits and vegetables, and in factory farming. Some argue these practice to be rewarding one, while others question the viability of these. Both points of views will be analysed in this essay before reaching a reasonable conclusion. It is widely believed by some that the livestock is kept in unsanitary and macabre conditions in many of factory farming arrangement while the use of modern fertilizers causes irrecoverable damage to the environment. This was manifested by many documentaries that aired during the early 1990s, that went behind the scenes of such biotechnologically produced poultry and other edibles. For many people, this inhumane treatment of livestock is enough to keep them from consuming the factory farmed meat. Thus it is understandable, why some people are vocal critics of factory farming and other similar processes. On the other hand, some people avow, that factory farming is beneficial and for the common good of the mankind. Take, an isolated country like New Zealand, for example, for her the export of poultry produced from the poultry farms, is one of her main source of national revenue. If it wasn’t for these practices, New Zealand would probably be not as competitive as it is today. Hence, the merits of such practices are evident from this example. For reasons related to, fair treatment of animals, environmental footprints, and economic benefits derision, the topic of factory farming and similar processes is a contentious one. After musing upon both sides of this argument, it is felt that biotechnology will continue to be used, although the tormenting of livestock in such settings, should be admonished.