Some people say that in all levels of education from primary school to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills.

The role of education is still widely debated nowadays, with some people claiming that too much time is spent on learning facts and theories and not sufficient on learning practical skills. I personally agree with this opinion and I will explain why in this essay. Firstly, schools should provide more subjects that are specialized in practical skills. Youngsters should be given a range of choices in terms of concentrations, major or minor and shouldn’t be limited into fact or theoretical courses. For example, school through all levels of education should provide practical courses like cooking, cleaning or basic maintainance courses. These practical courses can teach children basic living skills. While theoretical courses are important, but more essential needs for child is to learn the basic living skills and being more independently. On the other hand, balancing the time on learning practical skills can give students more choices in the future. There is always a significant amount of people that generally do not enjoy studying the theories and facts. It would be better off for those students to put more time on learning practical skills. For instance, there is a student always failing his mathematics class, but he really enjoys making coffee during his spare time. For this case, if he had more time on learning cooking or specifically making coffee, I think the advantage outweighs from studying theories and facts. Lastly, spend more time on learning practical skills can reduce the stress from schooling. Practical skills often involve more activities compared to theoretical courses. For example, cooking courses need students to wash and cook the ingredients, it involves more activities than studying finance. Activities can often release the stress from studying and it might as well improve the overall studying performance. I do understand the opposing view, which is that the education institutions should focus on teaching the facts and theories because they are hard to learn from parents or friends. Nevertheless, I feel that focusing too much on facts and theories can potentially damage the physical or mental health and personal interest of children. All in all, I believe that spending more time on practical skills is essential because it gives children more choices, help them to develop their own interest and maintain a good health.