Some people say that in all level of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills.

There is a contention in circulation that students’ schedules in the academic years are unbalanced between acquiring the theoretical knowledge and practical abilities. This essay completely agrees with this statement because there is a limited fund in practical education and the rising standard in paper-based tests. The primary reason why there is a theory-biased education is that in some developing countries, the government pays a little attention to invest in laboratory facilities. In fact, in some underprivileged countries, such as South Africa, the cramped government investment is used to improve the populace’s living conditions instead of training skilled pedagogical trainers and investing in practical education. This inevitably leads to outdated laboratories and restricted pragmatic practice, which hinders students’ curiosity and research abilities. For example, although Vietnam is well-known for its talented students, achieving high academic results in the International Olympics, it still has not had any break-through inventions due to lack of skilled practical experiences. Another reason why practical skills are neglected is that factual learning is over-emphasised. In this era of standardized tests, many governments tend to introduce novel examinations, which are highlighted to test the factual knowledge, to measure students’ progress. This eventually makes students put significant efforts on acquiring facts to have high academic results, causing a reduction in emphasis on skills. For instance, in my country, students neglect and undermine scientific facts from experiments in favour of learning these from textbooks, which is entirely due to the importance placed on scientific examinations. In conclusion, I strongly agree that there is an emphasis on learning facts in academical education because of limited investment and a rising of standardized tests.