Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills.

There is no doubt that theoretical knowledge is the foundation of education. Several people argue that plenty of time is wasted on teaching the theoretical portion of studies rather than the practical skills. In my opinion, it is true. Today, at all the levels of education that is for primary schools to tertiary, students are asserted to cram theories and other facts about the knowledge. For example, the subject chemistry at the school level is designed in such a way, that it requires the readers to blindly follow the textbooks by memorizing the chemical compositions and remembering the reaction chains, rather than allowing them to perform themselves and observe the results. Moreover, the students feel inundated due to an abundance of information. Hence, it resists the growth of new ideas and makes them like a frog in a well. On the other hand, some short sighted people believe that it is necessary for the students to gain knowledge from books. The activities which have been already performed in the past are not necessarily required to perform again. Hence, it’s a waste of time and material, letting the students do those things practically again. However, showing the information written in books helps them to understand concepts much easier and quickly rather than going through long procedures. Therefore, it’s better to spend extra time on teaching facts, over asking them to practically perform. In conclusion, I firmly believe that memorizing the concepts from books, overwhelmingly suppresses the mind and rise of new thoughts which results in narrowing the knowledge and limiting the complex ideas from rising.