Do the dangers derived from the use of chemicals in food production and preservation outweighs the advantages?

It is believed by a myriad of individuals that using chemicals has certain advantages, i think are disadvantages as well. On the one hand, chemicals placed in food, because that give the product visualize. Firstly, it is to improve the product to the eye and this is achieved via the use of colourings which encourage people to purchase food that may other wise not look tempting to eat. Secondly, much of the food we eat would not actually last that long of it were not for chemicals they contain, so again this is an advantage to the companies that sell food as their products have a longer shelf life. On the other hand, chemicals have negative impact on our health. Firstly, chemicals act quickly, we can develop habits to use and get used to these products. For example, chemicals give pleasure at the expense of our health. Secondly, chemicals harmful not only for health, but also have impression to our brain. This is because, the more you are eating chemicals, the easier it will be forget information to your brain. For instance, they strongly affect the nervous organs and make the brain weak. Therefore, i think chemicals shouldn't use in producing. To conclude, the fact that there are benefits to placing chemicals in food. I believe that these principally help the companies, but could be a danger to the public.