In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

In recent years, it has been far more normal people to live alone or live in a nuclear family, especially those who live in big cities. In my opinion, this trend could have both positive and negative effects that I will examine in this essay. On the one hand, people living in a small family or living alone have several advantages. Firstly, individuals choose to live for their own life may become independent and responsible for themselves. For example, a young adult will have to learn how to cook, how to save their budgets to pay all the house bills, which are valuable skills for their life. Secondly, deciding to live in a small family means that people can have more freedom in doing what they want without disturbing other family members. For instance, because of living in a nuclear family, a young teenager can dance and listen to louder music that he/she likes, which does not bother anyone. Last but not least, parents can spend more time taking care of their child as they are close-knit together. On the other hand, this trend I have given above can cause negative angles. Initially, feelings are considered to be one of the most detrimental factors when living alone. Due to isolating from a family, they are able to experience loneliness, depression, and anxiety and capable of missing out the daily conversation and feeling the house bills overweigh that sometimes they cannot handle it. By contrast, those who do not stay in an extended family, usually tend to become an indolent person. Thiss is because they lack the encouragement of other members. Moreover, members in a small family sometimes are unable to find common voices, share the same interests, and communicate his/her stories to siblings, which make them feel confined by their own family. In conclusion, nowadays, people tend to live in a nuclear family or live alone causing both negative and positive effects that I mentioned above.