Should governments make decisions about people’s lifestyle, or should people make their own decisions?

Human beings have different ways of living which varies from nation to nation. It is an often debatable issue that the authorities to take decisions regarding the ways of living of citizens or the individual be deciding about their living ways. In my opinion, there are certain things that should be in control of the government while people also have the right to maintain their lives. To embark upon, in developed countries or democratic nations, citizens have the power to make choices about their living culture. Also, an individual has the desires to fulfil their personal interest. But the public should be aware of the consequences of their actions. For instance, smoking is hazardous to our health and a person smoking in public places is not allowed as it may affect others passively. However, the government has never restricted the use of cigarettes or alcohol as its one’s personal choice of consumption until it is not harming other citizens. There are certain professions or activities, which should be in control of political establishments as it can be dangerous for society also. Government can help people to make the decision on their lifestyle. For example, it is illegal to drive a vehicle after drinking alcohol as it leads to road accidents as well as to threaten other’s safety also. Therefore, the ministry has created policies for road safety. So based on the situation, when any individual action harms the environment, human beings or animals then they must be aware of the effects. On the whole, the government and the people should know what is more beneficial to an individual and other masses also. Laws should be there to encourage a healthy lifestyle. At the same time, people can take decisions knowing the results.