Too much outdoor lighting is a problem in many cities nowadays. What are the causes and negative impacts of light pollution in cities?

In the modern world, it is true that the excessive outdoor lighting is causing numerous negative effects on people who live in urban areas. Advertising companies, for example, in order to boost the sales of their latest products, they put advertisements on streets, buildings, skyscrapers and even highways. With strong lighting effects on the advertisements, it may have detrimental impacts on drivers, citizens and pedestrian alike. Another major cause is waring signs on roads and streets, as cities have a higher car accident rate compared to town and village, it is necessary for governments and authorities to put warning signs on and avoid more casualties. However, these signs reported by the driver will reflect light during raining day and cause further accidents. For the causes mentioned above, in terms of negative impacts for this phenomenon. Not only drivers on highway, but also citizens live nearby the building or skyscraper will harm their eyes easily because the lighting pollution. Furthermore, members of the city rarely have an opportunity to appreciate the stars and the planets since only the brightest celestial objects are visible. Finally, animals may be attracted to the light emitted from cities and this may interfere with their migration routes and breeding patterns. For example, my city is full of white birds called egrets which never seem to sleep as a result of the light pollution. In conclusion, lighting pollution has a variety of causes and have severe consequences for both humans and animals nowadays, and we should take steps to reduce it.