Some people say it is important to keep your home and your workplace tidy, with organised and in the correct place. What is your opinion about this?

Today there is a big debate about whether it is important to keep our homes and places of work clean and organized. First, I will talk about why I think it is important to keep our living places clean and then I will go on to explain why this is also true for our work environments. To begin, it is essential to keep a clean house for several reasons. Firstly, it sets a good example for our children who look up to us for guidance and as role models, so when we demonstrate the skills necessary for success in life, we set our children up for success. For example, my 3 year old son plays at making his own bed after watching his mother and me makes ours. Furthermore, having a neat home helps with time management; take car keys, for instance, if they are always returned to their proper place when not in use, there will never be that panicked, stressful time wasted in frantically looking for them when it’s time to go somewhere. Finally, when our homes are clean it ensures health and safety. To explain, when our kitchens and bathrooms are hygienic, it prevents the contamination of our food and daily items with infectious organisms like e-coli or salmonella, which can do us harm. Second, when it comes to office and work space, it is equally important for them to be kept clean. The first reason is that we promote harmony with co-workers if we are neat. No one likes to share space with a so called ‘slob’ For example, in my previous office, there was a huge issue resulting from a co-worker's lack of cleanliness which resulted in the office having to be fumigated after cockroaches had colonized the man’s desk. Next, organizational skills at work result in ‘climbing the corporate ladder’ as they say. Bosses notice well organized and prepared staffers at promotion time, and those are the mice that get the cheese. For instance, I was once passed over for promotion in favour of someone with less experience because of my habit of leaving things to the last minute and not being prepared, this is what is referred to as ‘learning things the hard way. ’ Now I make sure to dot all my ‘i’s and cross all my ‘t’s. In conclusion, when it comes to cleanliness at home and work, I agree with the old saying that it is next to godliness, and that it is very important to ensure we are clean and organized in both places.