Nowadays people are affected by social media and the Internet. Is it a good or a bad trend, in your opinion? Explain it by giving your own examples.

The Internet and social media have changed the lives of people to a large extent. These sources are affecting the lives of people positively and negatively. This essay has a balanced approach and detailed reasoning will be given in the following paragraphs. To begin with, the web has made the life of people easier, more comfortable and entertaining. Firstly, while sitting at home, people can purchase anything what they want and there is refundable facility available on shopping websites if the product is defective. Secondly, employees who are working in big MNCs attend their meetings with the help of tele-communication. This saves a lot of time and cost. Thirdly, many online sites are available which provide us relaxation. For example, Netflix and amazon prime video have come up with many thriller and comedy shows which are very popular among different age groups. Talking about media, it keeps people up-to-date and provides various knowledge related to different topics. Sites like Facebook and Instagram helps to make more informal relationships with different type of people living in other countries. Consequently, they become friends and share their life experiences with each other. What's more, the different recipes are shared by them and for making the special item, Skype has provided the facility of video-chat also. However, on the flip side, these have disadvantages too. Advertisements shown on the sites and media push the people to buy the items by giving lame compliments and promises. Children are being attracted to that product and disturb their parents to buy it. Secondly, although, Whatsapp and other video apps are helping people to talk to their relatives sitting abroad, but these are increasing the communication gaps among locals. In conclusion, the advantages of internet and media outweighs their disadvantages. Although, these have made the life more advanced and worthwhile, but people are becoming lazy when they perform their activities while sitting at home only. In my opinion, the extensive usage of anything can lead to harmful effects. The access to everything should be limited.