Some people say that education system is the only critical factor to the development of a country.

Without any doubt, education is the key to development for a nation and only a well-educated nation could thrive for excellence and ultimate development. However, when the discussion topic is whether education system is the only critical issue for the development of a country, I quite disagree with this view. I personally believe that citizens’ skill development, increasing export, international relationship, better life standard, better utilisation of internal resources, technological development are other important and critical factors which must be combined with the educational system of a country for its  true and sustainable development. First of all, education is considered to be the backbone of a nation and it is quite obvious that education system of a country has an immense role in the overall development of a country. Most of the developed countries have well-educated citizens and exemplary education system – which represents the importance of education system for the development of a county. However, there are countries like Sri Lanka with an educated nation and better education facilities and still suffering from poverty and struggling to become a developed nation. This indicates that education system could never be the only consideration for development. Second, only better GDP and revenue reserve cannot be the true indicators of the development. Overall life standard, healthcare facility, safety, freedom of speech and thoughts, sustainable economic growth and a healthy environment are also important for a country to become a developed one. For instance, many middle-eastern countries have a huge reserve of foreign currency and source of national income and yet their citizens suffer from war, chaos and they have little freedom of thoughts. Such a nation might have a very strong economy and superior education system, but peace is absent there. Thus I do not recognise them as developed countries. Japan, does not have a strong educational system comparing with many other European countries and yet they are one of the richest and most developed countries in the world. They have properly utilised their possibility, national resources and have maintained a better global trade relationship. This country is a prime example of how skilled and hard working citizens can help improve their nation. Finally, many Asian countries have gained prominent economic growth in the last few years by adopting latest technology and they are soon going to be developed countries. They, no doubt, have improved their educational system over the period but they have not relied on this single factor. Increasing export, international relationship, better leadership and democratic government are some other crucial factor for many other countries to be promoted as a developed country. In conclusion, I believe that a better education system, along with skilled population, better leadership, international trade and relationship, better lifestyle, freedom of speech, technological development, enhanced export and utilisation of internal resources can make sure the development of a nation, not alone.