Some people think schools should group pupils according to their academic ability, but others believe pupils with different abilities should be educated together.

People have different views about grouping students in different classes- some prefer this grouping based on students’ academic skill while others prefer mixing students in a group. Although there are some good reasons to think that students with same performance level and ability in a group have more advantages, in my opinion, a mixed-ability education system should be carried out in schools. For several reasons it can be argued that student segregation by grades and same ability should be allowed in schools and should be grouped together. Firstly, high performing groups can be taught at a right speed by teachers. Who then would be able to plan their lecture by looking at students capability of how quickly they can absorb knowledge and new lessons. This will allow teachers to cover the course at a faster pace. Secondly, high-achievers will be more motivated if they are acknowledged as the most intelligent, talented and gifted peers. This sense of being superior will also help them to work hard and eventually become a successful, prosperous and competitive member of the future workforce. If a classroom has students of similar abilities and learning capability, they find it more interesting to perform and excel in their studies. The teachers do not need to put any special emphasis to teach them which is quite helpful for a good learning environment. However, I believe in the current system of mix education in schools, where students with different academic capabilities are being taught in the same class. Students in this system will be more confident and more competitive if they are not subject to grading based segregation. Less capable students would have more opportunities to interact with brilliant students if both are being taught in the same group. So it will not only encourage cooperation but also competition with their class-fellows. Furthermore, segregating less capable pupils in mid-range or lower level groups would cause resentment in them with lower self-esteem. This is because children do not really want to be seen as less intelligent or less privileged. Also, they are prone to be violent or get involved in a gang culture just to make themselves prominent in society or to satisfy their confidence. Some low-achievers might end up attaining worse grades than before since a sense of competition is less likely to be found in the class of less capable pupil. Also, comparatively less intelligent students will not get the confidence of competing in the job markets in future, if they are kept in low-quality classes. In conclusion, grouping pupils by their achievement level have few positive effects on high performing students but still this is a harmful way to education a nation. I would rather argue that mixed-ability oriented classes should be encouraged in schools as it will benefit all students.