Some people say that computers can translate languages, so children need not study foreign languages anymore.

With the rapid development of computer science computers nowadays can translate to and from all major languages. Therefore, some people say that children do not need to study foreign languages anymore. From my point of view, I think computers will never take the place of human beings and without learning a language, people won't be able to take the benefit of computers translation related works. Firstly, language is closely related to a country's culture. Through language study, students can know the culture of a country. For example, if you study English, you can know a lot of things about English literature, English poetry, English festivals and English customs. I am English major. I like English romantic poems very much. The beautiful verses by Shelley, Burns and other famous English poets are still very popular in modern literature. We also enjoy some English festivals like Halloween, April Fools Day and Christmas, when people celebrate in night clubs and bars and have a lot of fun. Secondly, a computer is only a machine, whose programs are designed and written by human beings. Without an intimate knowledge of foreign languages and translation, we cannot write an efficient translation program for computers, which will be a cold machine and become useless. Thirdly, language study can cultivate a child's intelligence. Language is a unique ability of our human beings. Language study can improve children's audio ability. They can distinguish the subtle differences of pronunciation and rhythm. However, we ca not deny the advantages the computers have brought for us. We often need to read some foreign articles and materials in our study and work and some translation software can give us an immediate explanation of some difficult words, which saves us a lot of valuable time. To conclude, computers will never take the place of our human beings as a translator or an interpreter, because their ability is decided by human beings.