Over the past 50 years, young people have gained status and power but old people have lost. What is the cause and is it a good development or bad development?

The knowledge-based society witnessed great changes over the past decades. Many young people have taken the place of the old ones and gained political and financial power in the world. Bill Gates, the director of Microsoft, Tony Blaire, Prime Minister of Britain and Bush, President of the USA give us a vivid illustration. From my point of view, the trend is natural and inevitable. Young people are energetic and vigorous. Most of them have received formal education in university, where they acquired abundant knowledge and experience, which are quite essential to their future career. Compared with young people, old people's knowledge is outdated, which does not fit in with the development of the current society. Old people react more slowly than young people, who can always make quick judges and prompt decisions. Furthermore, young people are more open-minded than old people who have a tendency of conservation. Therefore, young people can adapt themselves to the changeable world more easily. Obviously, this trend brings about both advantages and disadvantages. On the one hand, young leaders and powers can inject vigour and new hopes to the world, which not only benefits the development of the global economy but also establishes multilateral relation among the countries in the world. On the other hand, young people still lack adequate experience and skills to deal with sophisticated national problems and international relations. As a result, many young leaders in the world are often criticised for the lack of tactics by old people. Some young people are very radical when faced with trouble. They still have a lot of things to learn. Generally, old people should offer young guys opportunities to practice their abilities and talents. At the same time, young people should learn from old ones modestly and make themselves more admirable.