Some people say that computers can translate languages, so children need not study foreign languages anymore.

Some students are thinking of giving up studying English as modern machines can do the job of translation. However, I think it is wrong to drop studying English, as machines cannot do perfectly, especially in translation, which is a sophisticated process and needs so many skills. Firstly, what machines can do now is translate word for word, without consideration of context. When a computer translates scientific works, they can do a satisfying job. But when it comes to literature works, they cannot weigh every word according to different situations, and thus their job cannot display the path of original works. Suppose we give a poem by Shakespeare for translation, we can imagine how ridiculous the translation would be. Secondly, machines cannot convey the manner of speakers. If the speaker says in different tones like surprisingly, sarcastically or delightedly, the machine will not be able to express the emotions of people; therefore, we have no idea of what speakers really mean. When there is face-to-face communication, we can understand people judging from their expressions, body gestures and so on, even if we do not use many words. But machines cannot do this. On the other hand, English study offers one a new and different perspective of English-speaking countries because language and culture are closely related to each other. Machines can never do this. When we study English, we not only learn the language but also know more about the culture, history and customs. Machines can never replace the process of English study and give us a better understanding of the cultural background. To sum up, translation machines help us in some way but it doesn't mean that we can quit studying English because English study can give us much more than the English language itself.