Some people say that arts subjects such as painting or drawing should not be made compulsory for high school students.

In these days, many mass medias and publicities inform the positive points of art. In line with this trend, several people claim that high school students have to learn art subjects such as painting mandatorily. From my point of view, learning art subjects must be chosen depending on high school students’ will and educational institutions do not have to compel. In this essay, the reason why I totally disagree with former opinion will be discussed along with my ideas. Admittedly, it is fact that to learn art subjects contain a lot of merits. By learning such educational content, students can increase their creativity and experience an aesthetic stability. In detail, according to a research for American, the group of students who have been studying art have the higher value for EQ rather than the other group of students. Therefore, numerous number of schools are trying to put the subject into a time table of tuition. In addition, some students are able to figure out their talent for art and they can spread their wings following to the art’s road. They not only can obtain a definite occupation but also educational facilities and a country that is bigger perspective can expect to come out brilliant talented person like Picasso. Nevertheless, I believe that high school students have to get the option. First of all, they generally prepare to matriculate at a university. Thus, they would get lots of pressure and stress. In this situation, if they learn a subject that they do not want, it can affect as an adverse point. For instance, in the case of Korea, if a student wishes to enter a college, they have to take the Korea Scholastic Aptitude Test which does not involve art subject. Hence, no one wants to study the secondary subjectsubject except for a student who is majoring in drawing. Because typical students hope to concentrate on main subjects to accomplish their purpose. In other words, they cannot waste their time for studying painting. As a result, institute had better give a right of choice if they do not want to disturb students’ dream. To sum up, from my perspective, art education has many advantages such as to multiply students’ creativity. However, high school students should be able to choose whether to learn the subject or not.