In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Taking a year off to work or to travel is common for adolescents before tertiary education. They can benefit from its positive sides, whereas this tendency may also have disadvantageous sides which will be discussed in this essay. On the one hand, there are some major advantages of taking a break after graduating from high school. First and foremost, Young people become independent by travelling, meaning that, juveniles do not have anybody to guide them while they are away from their parents. It creates an opportunity for them to make their decisions individually independently. As a result, it will become easier for informal to adapt to university life. Furthermore, there might be the chance to attain work experience which will be a good point to add to their resume. For instance, working as an intern after leaving high school may aid adolescents, especially in the field in which they are going to resume their studies. On the other hand, some negative outcomes that derive from taking a gap year before tertiary studies also exist. The main concern is that this break may threaten a disruption for ongoing education. If juveniles do not study continuously, the knowledge that they gained throughout the school years will be diminished. Consequently, this gap may lead to some difficulties in starting and adapting to one’s university program. Secondly, since teenagers make their own living by suspending their education process, they are inclined to get carried away by bad habits, namely smoking, alcohol consumption and drug addiction. To conclude, not only can young people reap benefits from taking a break before starting academic studies, specifically attaining liberty and work experience, but they may also get into troublesome situations, such as not being able to acclimate an academic year and triggering bad habits.