Children nowadays watch significantly more television than in the past, which reduces their activity levels accordingly. Why is this the case? What measures can you suggest to encourage higher levels of activity among children?

Nowadays, due to the lack of safe playgrounds and the appealing contents of TV shows, children are spending more time than ever watching television, which remarkably shrinks their time of taking proper exercises. More insights into the underlying causes of this phenomenon and several feasible solutions regarding the intervention of both authorities and TV producers present in this essay. The ever-rising screen time recorded among children can be attributed to two main factors. Firstly, since there is a shortage of public recreational areas and existing ones are mostly filled with such threats as pollution, social evils and the potential of accidents, the chances of children taking up outdoor activities are undermined. Secondly, due to the proliferation of interesting, enticing TV shows targeted at young watchers, it is undeniable that kids find it difficult to resist the temptation of turning on the television. Therefore, children would devote their time gluing to a screen rather than going outdoors. Measures to tackle this issue involve the role of government to allocate more funds to establish new playgrounds for children. In addition, stricter laws and regulations should perhaps be implemented to ensure a safer environment for kids to participate in open-air activities. Other possible methods TV companies could adopt would be to reduce the number of cartoons shown on TV or to promote programs that serve as a warning regarding the deleterious effects of watching TV excessively can have on kids themselves. A prime illustration of this can be seen in France, where tobacco-style warnings are incorporated on every channel. These curtains have successfully informed viewers about the negative health impacts of watching television on the development of infants. In conclusion, it is the insufficiency of safe public places and the explosion of luring TV shows that results in the undue amount of screen time in children. Were the government to invest more money to introduce reliable recreational areas, and TV stations to hold shows that raise viewers’ awareness, the situation would doubtless improve.