Some people say that art is an essential subject and everyone should learn it in school.

It is argued by some that art should be made a mandatory subject in the classroom for every young one. In my opinion, I completely disagree with this statement because enforcing a subject might affect a child's academic performance and also prevent them from getting decent jobs later in life. Firstly, art should not be made compulsory in school because forcing a child to learn this could affect the youngster if he is not interested in the course. In other words, a child might have a flair for other subjects like science, mathematics and if he attends a school where art is essential, the academic capabilities of this young one will not be fully maximized, and this will drastically result in the child performing badly in school. Furthermore, other important subjects like science and technology are more beneficial because they will increase the child's ability of getting decent jobs in the future. That is, limiting a child to studying arts cripples the little one's future prospects as areas such as science and technology increases one's chances of getting high paying careers in the future. Moreover, most parents would rather prefer their offsprings studying subjects that improve their career prospects than courses related to arts which might not yield as much as technological courses. For example, it has been reported by the Nigerian Labour Congress in 2019 that graduates have better chances of getting offers in scientific and technical fields than other counterparts. To conclude, it is highly necessary that subjects like art is not forced on children as this might affect the performance of the offspring in the classroom and also limit the child's ability of getting lucrative jobs down the line.