Some people say that art is an essential subject and every child should learn it in school.

Some people say that art is an essential subject and every child should learn it in school. Do you agree or disagree? It is believed by some people that children should be taught art as a subject in school because it is considered as vital curriculum. In my opinion, I completely disagree that art is an important subject in school because it does not help with career and support main study topics. The first and foremost reason why children should not learn art is that it does not facilitate to secure prospective career. In other words, by learning art as a skill, it is not possible to earn attractive remuneration in these days. For example, many artists’ livelihoods in Bangladesh depend on government grants. Therefore, art cannot be an essential subject in school as it does not contribute to lead a prosperous life. Another reason of not studying art in school is that it will hamper the study of main subjects such as science, maths and English. In other words, students will get less time to concentrate on their main subjects, which is vital for future admission in college. Moreover, devoting all study time in improving the grades of principal subjects helps children to secure better career in life. Finally, the school should teach subjects, which relate to other principal subjects. For example, computer class will be more beneficial to children rather than art class because in future it will help them in doing science projects. Thus, children should not learn art in school as a compulsory subject. In conclusion, as art does not contribute to future job and support principal study subjects, children should not learn it in school.