Some people say that art is an essential subject and everyone should learn it in school.

It is argued by some that art should be made a mandatory subject in the classroom for The relevance of arts subjects in today's world has been a subject of discussion in recent times. While some people believe that these subjects are very much important, and therefore, should be offered by everyone, I, however, do not agree with this assertion for a number of reasons. To begin with, students of art find it very difficult to land a good job after graduation. Unlike in the past where society places more emphasis on art works, people no longer value such works of art as they do before. Instead, they are more concerned with the exciting world of science and technology, and this has led to a steady decline in the number of jobs available for graduates of art courses. In fact, in a recent survey by the Arts Department at the University of Benin, only twenty percent of art students eventually get a decent job offer later on in life. This goes to show why nobody should be made to learn art in schools. Another reason why art courses should not be offered by everyone is because they're too abstract. Most subjects in the arts require some form of virtual thinking to bring to life that which does not exist, and most students find it difficult to cope with this. As such, only some few talented students do well in them. Most individuals are, however, more inclined towards the more practical technical subjects and therefore, it'll be greatly unfair to force them to do these abstract courses in art. To illustrate, the number of American teenagers who perform exceptionally well in art-related courses have been known to prefer virtual works to practical ones. It is therefore evident that not everyone will perform greatly in the arts given their different inclinations. To conclude, it is highly necessary that subjects like art is not made essential as this might limit the child's ability of getting lucrative jobs down the line.