Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Some people have a perspective that advertisements lure us to purchase goods that are not of necessity. But, others are of the view that advertising enlightens us about new items which might ameliorate our lives. I strongly agree that ads motivate consumers to buy unwanted things. In this essay, I will discuss both of these viewpoints. There are compelling reasons why advertisements encourage people to own unneeded items. First of all, multinational corporations create meticulously crafted ads to entice consumers to purchase their products. For instance, fast food chain McDonald’s advertising artefacts tries to lure children with toys and playrooms in order to sell kid’s meal. Moreover, vigorous advertisement campaigns are promoted across a plethora of channels such as TV, billboards, online and to gauze consumer attention to purchase goods that may be of no need for them. Consequently, people become more materialistic as advertising compounds their desire to own more items. However, there are some merits of ads. The primary advantage to consumers is the awareness of new products. Informative advertisements can benefit people in their daily lives. For example, campaigns of medicinal fluid to remove minuscule warts can greatly help people by removing dead skin cells from their body. Furthermore, advertising of the same kind of product from multiple vendors or manufacturers influences competitive pricing in the marketplace and thus greatly benefits us. For instance, toothpaste advertisements of Colgate, Crest or other brands provide one with varying options to choose from. Therefore, ad campaigns can enlighten consumers. To conclude, I firmly believe that advertising lures us to buy unwanted items through meticulously crafted ads and an influx of campaigns across various channels. On the bright side, advertisements can be informative and influence the pricing of goods.