University students are increasingly study abroad as a part of their studies. Do advantages of studying abroad outweigh the disadvantages?

Studying abroad as an undergraduate or postgraduate has become very famous in today's world which, can be as a result of different factors. Studying abroad as its ups and downs just like anything in life and due to this, there is a constant question; "are the demerits more than the merits when an individual decides to study abroad? " This usually rings in every prospective student's mind. Thus, the essay will examine whether the disadvantages overrides the advantages. One very vital advantage is the exposure a foreign student is exposed to. He or she gets to have a first hand experience with other people's culture and habit which, in turn impact positively to such individual's knowledge. It also expands one's chain of friends and contacts. Contacts that could be of great help in the future if not immediately. Another plus of oversea's education, is the familiarity of the educational system in the country. It is important to note that the educational system and standard vary from place to place. Therefore, studying in foreign lands will add to one's experience. More so, the high regard given to an individual who has an international certificate when he or she returns home, is nothing compared to those who studied locally even if they are on the same educational level, especially, when seeking a job. Although the advantages mentioned above weigh a lot, others will argue otherwise. Some will say the cost of the school fees is quite high and might involve selling properties and getting loans which to them, is not worth it. But, it is important to know that funding education is not cheap either in one's own country or in another. That is why the saying " if you think education is expensive, try ignorance" should always ring a bell in such people's minds. In addition, a down side to studying abroad that some persons may argue for is that; a learner will be far from home and might lose contact with friends and family. It is key to realise that, we are in the new age of technology and the internet. Family and friends can easily keep in touch via social media like Skype, through WhatsApp messages and even telephone calls. To conclude, the fact that learning in a nation other than a university learner's own nation has become popular in today's world. This could be related to the knowledge that the advantages are greater than the disadvantages associated with it.