Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

In today's world, advertisement has become a significant tool to sell a product or even a service. While some argue that this kind of propaganda increases information about products that could make our lives better, others are of the opinion that these propagandas induce people to buy unnecessary things. This essay will discuss why I strongly believe that the latter is more correct. First of all, to promote a product, companies generally reveal only the pro side of it, thus they are providing an incomplete and an unreal description of the product. In this case, when only positive aspects are known, there is an inclination to buy that product, consequently we end up purchasing something which is not required. For example, some commercials of weight loss supplements has seen often in the last years, whereas there are many health experts defending the opinion that it is better to control the weight through a proper diet and exercises. Secondly, advertisements are very illustrative and children are easily attracted by them. Nowadays, most of the teenagers like to own a smart phone without necessity which are a result of these massive advertisements. For instance, in January was my sister's birthday, and my mother gave to her a brand new iPhone instead of buy books or even a computer to her studies. In conclusion, I totally agree that an advertisement creates an impression on the consumer's mind and people end up buying an undesired product. They could be less persuasive and more realistic showing the truth behind them.