Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Advertising plays a major role when it comes to buying products. In this essay, I will be discussing how advertising encourages us to spend on the products we don't even need and also how new products are introduced to us that have a positive effect on our lifestyles. Advertising can be of any kind, be it digital or printed. Now we are more into the digital era as we use smartphones, laptops, tablets for every possible task. Even while watching movies or shows online you are interrupted by having advertisements in the breaks. They actually motivate you to purchase a lot of stuff that you did not even think of buying before. I would like to give my own example as a similar thing happened to me. I was on my journey of losing weight and was very dedicated towards it. Then a few weeks later I saw a hoarding in downtown mentioning fat burning tea to help you lose weight. It stated all the benefits of how losing weight can be a piece of cake for anyone. I bought it immediately and added it to my meal plan. Honestly, there were no results from the tea and I realised it was a waste of money. In addition, when it comes to making our lives easier advertisements are a blessing too. They actually introduce us to so many useful products that are a lifesaver. For instance, curling hair back in the 1980s in India was a long process that used to start in the past night itself. Wash your hair, wait for it to be damp, use the rollers and then wait for the perfect curls in the morning. Excitingly when we talk about curling hair now we have so many products available that give you the desired look in just 30 minutes. Advertisements from international companies encouraged women to buy the products easily which actually made their life hassle-free. To summarise I would state that advertisements are a great source of information if we use them in the right way. As both, the views have been discussed in this essay mentioning both the pros and cons of advertisement, I highly recommend customers checking reviews of the products and ratings before buying anything and also asking themselves if that particular product is really needed or if its going to make a difference in our lives.