Some people think that the development of technology helps to reduce crime, while other people think it encourages crime. devlpt of techno reduces crime Devlpt of techn encourages crime

The role of technology in our everyday lives cannot be overemphasized. It is believed by people that technological development has helped to limit criminal offences, others think that technology promotes these crimes. In my opinion, I believe that advanced technology has indeed aided a decrease in crime levels drastically. On the one hand, I believe that technology has played a big role in reducing crime because of the fear it imposes in the hearts of potential criminals. In a country where these technological tools are being used, criminals are on the low because they know that the machine can easily detect them. For example, ever since the Nigerian government installed a surveillance camera on the road, the rate of road robbery drastically reduced. This goes to show how effective technology is in curbing crime. On the other hand, it is thought that technology has increased crime rate because of the vast sources of information available online to criminals. In the past, before a crime is committed, it could take years of planning by the perpetrators but now crimes can be committed easily by just a tap of a button even without the perpetrator leaving his position. For instance, ever since youtube was created the rate of crime has increased in the US. This is because of the limitless unfiltered information on the internet shared by people. In conclusion, although the crime rate has increased because of the huge amount of information present on the internet, I believe that the fear imposed by technological tools have reduced the spread of crime.