Many people are exercising less. Some people say that by watching major sport events on television such as the Olympics, people can be encouraged to exercise. Others say there are other ways to encourage people to exercise.

The importance of exercise cannot be over-emphasized. While some people are of the perception that viewing core sport programmes on television screens will motivate people to work out more, others think there are other methods to make people do so. I, however, support the latter for a number of reasons. To begin with, those that say by watching sports people will engage in it more say so because nowadays people tend to aggravate towards and do what their icons do. This is because they see them as role models and want to attain the level of agility and activity that they possess such that it will make them less sedentary in nature. A good example is a teenage who recently got signed up by a popular football club, when interviewed, he said he picked up the interest after watch Ronaldo on screen hence consistently exercising to practice and perform better. This is to show the impact that aired sport events have on people. On the other hand, I believe that periodical health campaigns and charity fund-raising walks will make people exercise more. Firstly, by making people know their numbers, with respect to blood test values for pressure, glucose and lipids, people will be more aware of their health and be more intentional about their lifestyle when they know that engaging in exercise will reduce sedentary levels. In addition, fund-raising walks will make people exercise more because when people find a cause which they are passionate about and would mean them soliciting for funds through walks, they will definitely participate in it. For example is renovating an old town hall. In conclusion, I do not agree that watching important sport programmes such as FIFA that are aired on television screens would make people work-out more but health campaigns and awareness as well as fun-raising walks will help.