Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Nowadays, advertisement has become a very popular way of showcasing new products. Some people argue that this trend has led to a lot of people buying things they do not need, others believe it is the best way to reach out to inform people about a product that could be beneficial to the public. I will discuss my viewpoint in this essay. Firstly, any new brand, whether good or bad must get to the market. It is a known fact that an advertisement is very important for any product to reach a wider market. In the process of advertising these products the companies generally describe what these products are and what they can do for people so the question of buying irrelevant products which is not needed becomes relative. For instance, if a product is met to improve hair growth and advertised as such, it should not be used for other purpose. Secondly, if we continue to argue the fact that people buy irrelevant things because of the glorious advertisement put on them, that point will become weak when we look at the role of many regulatory organizations now in place in many countries. These organizations tend to now check all the excessive glory many companies give to their products. Therefore, these companies are made to put a caveat, if necessary on these items. For example, for drug related products - certain regulatory agencies have put a restriction on exaggerated efficacies of some products. This is also true for some product like cigarettes where the public is also made to understand the harmful effects of such products. In conclusion, I strongly support that all new products that will be beneficial to the public be advertised to create awareness and improve the lives of people.