In many places, new homes are needed, but the only space available for building them is in the countryside. Some people believe it is more important to protect the countryside and not to build new homes there. What is your opinion?

An increasing number of population growth, indicates a high demand for new accommodations. But, the fact is that, due to scarcity of the land in the city areas, the space is only available in the countryside. However, environmentalists think that, the protection of the countryside is more essential than building new homes. I totally agree with this statement and my reasons are explained in trailed paragraphs. To begin with, new accommodations in the countryside, also require several other facilities, such as water supply, electricity lines and roads. Constructing these engineering projects leads to destruction of forests, rivers and plethora of plants. As a result, animals and birds may lose their natural habitats, which may be the reason of the extinction of many species. For example, before a decade, many city dwellers used to see various animals and birds from their own houses, but now, because of urbanization, they do not see many species, which they used to see in the past. Additionally, developing rural areas compels farmers of that area, to move to an unknown zone, which may result in a poor harvest, as the weather and the type of the soil are unknown to them. Consequently, the nation needs to import necessary goods from overseas, which costs more than building new homes. For instance, in Geelong, Australia, due to urbanization, the crop of rise was almost halved and to fulfil the necessities of citizens, Australian governments were forced to import the goods from other nations, for which the nation had to pay a huge amount. To conclude, according to me, even though, there is a high demand for new homes, protecting the environment is also essential for the welfare of the society.