Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

It is argued that advertisement incentivates -> incentives superfluous purchases, while some individuals advocate that advertising informs the population about fresh items released in the market, which can make our lives easier. From my perspective, I completely agree with the first point-of-view. To begin with, the main goal of the advertisement is to sell goods, no matter if the buyer needs the product or not, due to how the market works, therefore, if a industry -> an industry has developed a product, the next step in the natural process of the market is to advertise it in order to sell it. For instance, a survey last year indicated that 85% of the items which were announced during The Bachelor show had an increase in the purchases. Apart from that, nowadays, a myriad of people just buy goods apparently with -> for no reason, given that they are wealthy and consequently they feel they must have the latest car or yatch -> yacht. Furthermore, the advertisement industry invests tremendous amont -> amount of money in surveys to understand the human mind, since they want to choose the best way to catch people’s attention and, as a consequence, sell more. For example, a recent study found that marketing industry investments in targeting children’s audience have never been so high, as they really promote great sellings. In addition, the society today seems to overvalue money, because success is not who you are, but how much you earn, therefore an individual is not educated to buy only what he or she needs, but to buy things they do not need and show off what they bought. To conclude, in my opinion, I do believe that advertising encourages people to buy products they do not need.