Education is not a luxury, but a basic human right and as such should be free for everyone irrespective of personal wealth.

Nelson Mandela, the South African civil rights leader, who was instrumental in the country's transition out of Apartheid, once said: "Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world. " Actually, education is a fundamental need for every citizen of a country. Therefore, I strongly advocate that education should be free for all as a basic right, regardless of individual’s financial affluence. There is no doubt that free education would be beneficial to those who deserve it, as well as, to the society as a whole. First of all, it opens the doors of opportunities to these talented people. In addition, providing free education would enable students to concentrate on learning and gaining more through the education, instead of struggling with the payment of tuition fees and meeting other expenses. More importantly, everyone irrespective of personal wealth has the equal right to education. Take for example, school and colleges are places where students wear same uniforms, learns same knowledge. With regard to scholarships, they are intended for the disadvantaged few, the disadvantaged are just few. Scholarships help only a handful, for others providing free education would come as a great relief. If education is not free in the country, the percentage of educated population would be less than expected. In particular, uneducated people in a way are a burden on a nation. It is believed that free education could devalue its value as a natural human tendency. This is because, a lot of students would not put their mind and soul into studying. Thereby, lowering the overall quality of education. Nevertheless, there are more benefits than drawbacks. Correspondingly, education is the tool by which enlightens people that promote individual freedom and empowerment. When an entire society is educated, productivity increases, average income increases, and unemployment decreases. Consequently, this leads to the economic growth and stability of a society as a whole. It starts with education. Governments are responsible for providing basic needs of their citizens to live and develop themselves and without any education personal development becomes virtually impossible. Taking everything into consideration, from my point of view, free education is a good choice, but not the best choice. It depends on the economy of each nation. The government should decide sensibly to ensure that each of its citizens should get good quality education for free.